Columbia College Chicago Theatre and Music Department Alumni and Faculty Win 2020 Jeff Awards



Congratulations to the alumni and faculty of the Columbia College Chicago Theatre Department and the Columbia College Chicago Music Department who have won 2020 Joseph Jefferson Awards, Chicago’s top theatre award. The Equity “Jeff Awards” honor excellence in Chicago’s Equity theatre during the 2019-2020 theatre season. The list of this year’s Equity Jeff Award winners, announced November 9, includes:


A.C. Smith

Performer in a Supporting Role – Play: Columbia College Theatre Department alum A.C. Smith ’86, a graduate of the Theatre Department’s BA Program in Theatre, for King Hedley II (Court Theatre);


Jeffrey Levin

Sound Design – Midsize: Columbia College Music Department alum Jeffrey Levin ’10, a graduate of the Columbia College Music Department‘s BA Program in Music with a Composition Concentration, for Grey House (A Red Orchid Theatre).

Heather Gilbert

Heather Gilbert

Lighting Design – Large: Theatre Department Theatre Design program coordinator Heather Gilbert for Bug (Steppenwolf Theatre Company);

Jermaine Hill

Musical Direction: Columbia College Theatre Department faculty member Jermaine Hill, coordinator of the Theatre Department’s Musical Theatre Program, for Duke Ellington’s Sophisticated Ladies (Porchlight Music Theatre).

In addition, Columbia College alumni and faculty were cast members of the Jeff Award-winning Ensemble — Musical or Revue” of Duke Ellington’s Sophisticated Ladies (Porchlight Music Theatre). And Columbia alumni and faculty were in the casts and creative teams for the shows that won Jeff Awards in the “Production” category: King Hedley II (Court Theatre) and the musicals An American in Paris (Drury Lane Productions) and Monty Python’s Spamalot (Mercury Theater Chicago).