Columbia College Chicago Theatre and Music Faculty and Alums Win 2020 Black Theatre Alliance Awards

Congratulations to the Columbia College Chicago alumni and faculty who won 2020 Black Theatre Alliance Awards. The awards were announced Monday, November 2, even though a planned live ceremony was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The winners include:

Celeste Williams

Columbia College Chicago Theatre Department faculty member Celeste Williams, winner of the Hattie McDaniel Award for Best Featured Actress in a Play for The First Deep Breath (Victory Gardens Theater);.

Jeffrey Levin

Columbia College alum Jeffrey Levin ’10, a graduate of the Columbia College Chicago Music Department‘s BA Program in Music with a Composition Concentration, winner of the Mike Sargent Award for Best Sound Design for Kill Move Paradise (TimeLine Theatre Company);

Robert Reddrick

former Columbia College Music Department student Robert Reddrick, winner of the Duke Ellington Award for Best Musical Direction for You Can’t Fake the Funk: A Journey Through Funk Music (Black Ensemble Theater).

The Black Theatre Alliance Awards were established in 1995 by Columbia College Chicago alumnus Vincent Williams ’03, a graduate of the BA Program in Performing Arts Management from what is now the Columbia College Chicago Business and Entrepreneurship Department. The awards honor excellence in African American theatre and the performing arts in the Chicagoland area.