Columbia College Chicago Theatre, Music, and Dance Alumni and Faculty Nominated for 2019 Joseph Jefferson Awards

Congratulations to the alumni and faculty of the Columbia College Chicago Theatre Department, the Columbia College Chicago Music Department, and the Dance Center of Columbia College Chicago who have been nominated for 2019 Joseph Jefferson Awards, Chicago’s top theatre award. The list of nominees for this year’s “Equity Jeff Awards,” which honor excellence in Chicago-area theatres operating under Actors’ Equity contracts during the 2018-2019 theatre season, includes:

Performer in a Principal Role – Play:

Meg Thalken

Theatre Department faculty member Meg Thalken, for her performance in Four Places at the Den Theatre.

Performer in a Principal Role – Musical:

Barbara Robertson

Theatre Department faculty member Barbara Robertson, for her starring role in Firebrand Theatre‘s Chicago premiere of Queen of the Mist.

Performer in a Supporting Role – Play:

Kirsten Fitzgerald

former Columbia College Theatre Department faculty member Kirsten Fitzgerald, for Sweat at Goodman Theatre.

Director – Musical or Revue – Large:

David Cromer

Columbia College Honorary Doctorate recipient and former Theatre Department student and teacher David Cromer HDR ’17, for Next to Normal at Writers Theatre;

Jim Corti

former Columbia College teacher Jim Corti, for The Producers at Paramount Theatre.

Director – Play – Large:

Vanessa Stalling

former Columbia College teacher Vanessa Stalling, for Court 51 at Court Theatre.

Lighting Design – Large:Columbia College alum Jesse Klug ’05, a graduate of the Columbia College Chicago Theatre Department‘s Theatre Design Program, nominated twice for two productions: The Producers at Paramount Theatre and A Midsummer Night’s Dream at Chicago Shakespeare Theatre.

Sound Design – Midsize:

Jeffrey Levin

Columbia College alum Jeffrey Levin ’10, a graduate of the Columbia College Chicago Music Department‘s BA Program in Music with a Composition Concentration, for Small Mouth Sounds at A Red Orchid Theatre.

Sound Design – Large:Jeffrey Levin again, for A Shayna Maidel at TimeLine Theatre Company.

Projection Design:

Mike Tutaj

Theatre Department faculty member Mike Tutaj, for Hamlet at Chicago Shakespeare Theatre.

Fight Choreography:

Jon Beal
Jon Beal

Columbia College alum Jon Beal ’11, a graduate of the Columbia College Theatre Department’s Acting BA program, for Cardboard Piano TimeLine Theatre Company.

Music Direction:

Andra Velis Simon
Andra Velis Simon

Columbia College faculty member Andra Velis Simon, for Caroline, or Change, presented by Firebrand Theatre in association with TimeLine Theatre Company;

Roberta Duchak

former Columbia College Music Department teacher Roberta Duchak, for Six at Chicago Shakespeare Theatre.

Original Music in a Play:

Richard Woodbury

former Dance Center of Columbia College teacher Richard Woodbury, for The Winter’s Tale at Goodman Theatre.

The 51st annual Jeff Equity Awards ceremony takes place at Drury Lane Theatre in Oakbrook Terrace on Monday, October 21. For more information, click here.