AA&A Celebrates at Manifest 2016: Graduating/Award-Winning Students, Faculty & Educational Partners

We are excited to dedicate again this year’s Manifest Reception to the AA&A Department’s students, recognizing our graduating seniors and their families and honoring our 2015-2016 Scholarship and Award winners. We will also be formally recognizing award winning adjunct faculty, Jeremy Caldera, as well as two educational partners for their substantial contributions to our mission: The MacArthur Foundation and Arup.

When: Friday, 5/13/2016, 5:30-6:30pm
Where: 33 E. Congress, Lower Level, Studio A (enter on Wabash and walk west towards the lower level staircase).

Come celebrate with us!

This is an opportunity for all of us at AA&A to interact with our future colleagues and their families and recognize our graduating seniors’ successful work. It is also an opportunity to celebrate the academic and creative accomplishments of our 2015-2016 award winning students and faculty.

Lead Audiovisual Design Engineer for Zdi Inc. and Adjunct faculty, Jeremy Caldera CDS-D, CDS-I, has been recognized with the top education award within the A/V Systems Design and Integration industry: InfoComm’s 2016 Educator of the Year Award, given annually to recognize individuals who have made important contributions to the development, education and training of AV professionals and others considering careers in the audiovisual industry. This recognition comes on the heels of his 2015 Young A/V Professional Award (see also here) and, among other things, recognizes his contributions to the success of students such as Stanton Helms and Victoria Barela.

Juniors Keegan Bradac (BA in Live & Installed Sound, 3.984 GPA) and Kenneth Meinke (BA in Audio Design & Production, 3.978 GPA) share this year’s Hammerman Scholarship. We congratulate Keegan and Ken for maintaining high levels of academic performance and for consistently demonstrating dedication to their studies, intellectual rigor, dependability, and initiative. Both have managed to impress us with their  consistent performance, discrete persistence, and an overall level of success that reminds us why we chose to become teachers!

Bachelor of Science in Acoustics students Rachael Cowell  (3.857 GPA), Megan Ouwenga (3.757 GPA), Brandon Olmos (3.914 GPA), and Austin Phillips (3.832 GPA) share this year’s Jeremy Jefferies Hill Scholarship in Acoustics. All four performed exceptionally in their studies for our Acoustics B.S. program and have been meaningfully active within the student, local, and/or national chapters of the Acoustical Society of America. Congratulations Rachel, Megan, Brandon, and Austin; you make us proud!

Last but not least, junior Rasul Freelain, (Audio Design & Production, 3.97 GPA) was just chosen as Columbia College Chicago’s nominee for the 2016 Student Lincoln Laureate Award! This is a major recognition for Rasul, a mature, reliable, inquisitive, high-performing individual, who consistently raises the standard of what it means to be a Columbia College student. Along with all of this year’s honorees, he is giving us, his teachers, a reason to do what we do, helping us learn and improve in the process.

Again, come celebrate with us during our AA&A Manifest 2016 Reception!

Friday, 5/13/2016, 5:30-6:30pm, 33 E. Congress, Lower Level, Studio A