Commissions Awarded to Two Teams for Cutting-Edge Electronic Publishing Project

CBPA has named two teams as commission award winners for its innovative digital publishing project Expanded Artists’ Books. The commissions, which are made possible with generous support from the National Endowment for the Arts: Arts in Media Grant; the Kahle-Austin Foundation; and other support entities, will support the creation of new artworks for the iPad. The new artworks will also have physical counterparts that intersect, modulate, or inform the digital components of the artwork.

The commission award winners for this innovative digital publishing project will consist of two teams. The two members of the first team, Denise Bookwalter and Meg Mitchell, will complete an environmentally-driven project which mobilizes online weather data. The second group is a three-person collective, with Amaranth Borsuk, Ian Hatcher and Kate Durbin. They will develop a project which plays with the concept of the illuminated manuscript.

The commission winners were selected by a national panel of three jurors including Bill Berkson, a poet, art critic and Professor Emeritus, San Francisco Art Institute; Emily McVarish, a writer, designer and book artist and Associate Professor of Graphic Design, California College of the Arts; and Timothy Murray, Professor of Comparative Literature and English and Curator of the Rose Goldsen Archive of New Media Studies at Cornell University. 

For more information on the teams, their projects, and the Expanded Artists’ Books program, see the press release, or visit our Research web page.